Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alliance for Nonprofit Management
The professional association of individuals and organizations devoted to improving the management and governance capacity of nonprofits - to assist nonprofits in fulfilling their mission.
Aspen Institute Program on Philanthropy and Social Innovation
Grantmaking foundations, nonprofit organizations, social enterprises and public-private partnerships offer lasting solutions to societal challenges. They are at the heart of civil society. This program seeks to inform and maximize the impact of these social sector actors through leadership development initiatives, convenings, and communications so that each can contribute to the good society at home and abroad.
Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society
Committed to strengthening civil society through education, research, and leadership training.
CMO.com delivers marketing insights, expertise, and inspiration for and by marketing leaders—all aimed at helping CMOs, senior marketers, and their teams become better marketers and deliver standout experiences in a digital world.
Free Management Library
Provides easy-to-access, clutter-free, comprehensive resources regarding the leadership and management of yourself, other individuals, groups and organizations.
GrantCraft: Practical Wisdom for Grantmakers
Aimed at helping grantmakers get beyond the basics and work more effectively.
We gather and publicize information about nonprofit organizations. We encourage nonprofits to share information about their organizations openly and completely. Any nonprofit in our database can update its report with information about its mission, programs, leaders, goals, accomplishments, and needs. We combine the information that nonprofits supply with data from several other sources.
Hauser Institute for Civil Society
"The Hauser Center for Nonprofit Organizations was established in 1997 with a generous grant from Rita and Gustave Hauser. In 2013 the Hauser Center merged with the Center for Public Leadership at the Harvard Kennedy School, and became the Hauser Institute for Civil Society."
An interactive site where people and organizations can exchange resources and ideas, locate opportunities and supporters, and take steps toward building a world where all people can lead free and dignified lives.
"Independent Sector serves as the premier meeting ground for the leaders of America's charitable and philanthropic sector. Since our founding in 1980, we have sponsored ground-breaking research, fought for public policies that support a dynamic, independent sector, and created unparalleled resources so staff, boards, and volunteers can improve their organizations and better serve their communities."
National Center for Charitable Statistics
The national clearinghouse of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States.
Nonprofit Law Library
"Information and resources on nonprofit law & regulation."
Impact Foundry Resource Center
"Offering comprehensive resources, from a professionally-staffed library, access to a grant funder database, from fundraising workshops to management networking, the Center enables new and existing nonprofits to improve management, operations, fund development, marketing & public relations, board development and more."
Society for Nonprofit Organizations
One of the oldest and largest nonprofit management support organizations in the country. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit, the Society provides its members with products and services that help them to accomplish their missions more effectively.
USA.gov for Nonprofits
Official information and services from the U.S. government
A quarterly newspaper, from the MN Council on Foundations website, providing readers in the nonprofit community with a wide range of news and information on Minnesota grantmaking. Giving Forum publishes original in-depth articles that explore current giving issues, educate readers on philanthropy and report on grantmaking research. The newspaper's regular departments report on the people, organizations and events making news in Minnesota grantmaking.
Guide to Minnesota Charity Laws
From the Attorney General's Office.
Information for Charitable Organizations and Trusts
Annual Report and Registration. From the MN Attorney General's Office.
Minnesota Attorney General's Office: Charities Division
Information for and about charities. Includes a searchable database of charities with financial information (990s).
Minnesota Council of Nonprofits
The Minnesota Council of Nonprofits informs, promotes, connects and strengthens individual nonprofits and the nonprofit sector
Minnesota Council on Foundations
The mission of the Minnesota Council on Foundations is to strengthen and to increase participation in organized philanthropy.
Nonprofit SpeciaLIST: expert service for nonprofits
A project of the Minnesota Council of Nonprofits (MCN), is a searchable database of vendors and consultants that work with nonprofit organizations.
"Created from the merger of Nonprofits Assistance Fund and MAP for Nonprofits. [T]he combination provides a more holistic approach to services that meet a larger set of nonprofits’ needs, including the ability to more closely link strategy, governance, and finance and to support nonprofits throughout their organizational lifecycle. Propel Nonprofits serves nonprofit organizations in Minnesota and the adjacent states of Wisconsin, Iowa, North Dakota, and South Dakota.
2018 Minnesota Statutes Index (topics)
An index pointing to relevant information in the Minnesota Statutes.
Social Media Examiner
"Social Media Examiner is a free online magazine designed to help businesses discover how to best use social media tools like Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn to find leads, increase sales and generate more brand awareness."
p.s. it's not really just for business
Grantmaking and Philanthropy
"Candid’s live trainings, on-demand learning resources, and tools that were previously found on GrantSpace will now be a part of Candid Learning. Because Candid has learning tools for grantmakers and grantseekers, the site is designed to be a destination for both audiences, and includes pathways to content from GrantCraft and GlassPockets."
An important source of information. Their mission is to "foster public understanding of the foundation field by collecting, organizing, analyzing, and disseminating information on foundations, corporate giving, and related subjects." This site includes: FCStats: Statistical data on foundations and their grants; Learning Lab: Online tutorials, resources, etc
PRO: Philanthropy Resources Online
"A digital library of primary and secondary sources that supports teaching and learning about philanthropy and the nonprofit sector." Full text essays and other information, some from the 19th century. From the Indiana University Library
Women's Philanthropy Institute
The Women’s Philanthropy Institute furthers the understanding of women’s philanthropy through research, education, and knowledge dissemination.