Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal Ranking: Lists and Databases
Eigenfactor scores and Article Influence scores rank journals much as Google ranks websites. Scholarly references join journals together in a vast network of citations. Our algorithms use the structure of the entire network (instead of purely local citation information) to evaluate the importance of each journal.
Journal Quality List
A collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources.
The focus is on business-related subjects, e.g. Entrepreneurship. Download the .pdf, about 1/2 way down the page.
Scimago Journal & Country Rank
A portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database.
On the Subject of Ranking
Journal Ranking and Impact: Articles
Many of these articles contain lists.
An Analysis of Finance Journal Impact Factors.
Abstract: This paper provides an analysis of the citation counts of articles published in the leading finance journals. It identifies the determinants of the most prevalent measure of influence for finance journals, the Social Sciences Citation Index impact factors. It finds that impact factors are affected by citations outside the finance field, are not affected by the distribution of published articles across subfields, and are good predictors of the long-term citation counts of articles.
A Citation Analysis of Risk, Insurance, and Actuarial Research: 2001Through 2005.
Abstract: The bibliographies of 17 risk journals were evaluated to determine the relative influence of these risk journals on risk, insurance, and actuarial research published during the years 2001 through 2005. Tables are provided that show the frequency with which each of these journals cites itself and the other sample journals.
A Comprehensive Analysis of Marketing Journal Rankings
Abstract: The purpose of this study is to offer a comprehensive assessment of journal standings in Marketing from two perspectives. The discipline perspective of rankings is obtained from a collection of published journal ranking studies during the past 15 years...
Influential Journals, Institutions and Researchers in Real Estate.
Abstract: A threshold citation approach is used to measure the research influence of academic real estate journals, institutions and individual researchers. Real Estate Economics followed by The Journal of Real Estate Finance and Economics and Journal of Real Estate Research are the most influential real estate journals. Almost 63% of heavily cited works in core real estate journals are published in real estate journals.
The most influential journals in academic accounting
Abstract: In this article we summarize the findings of articles that have ranked academic accounting journals, as well as articles that provide other bases for considering journal quality. Results indicate that five journals—Accounting, Organizations and Society, Contemporary Accounting Research, Journal of Accounting and Economics, Journal of Accounting Research, and The Accounting Review—rank consistently as the top journals in the field.
Perceptions of Journal Quality
Abstract: The article informs that the primary purpose of this study is to determine the subjective evaluations of both department heads and faculty members concerning the quality of selected journals.
Ranking the International Business Journals
This study seeks to assess and rank the relative quality of 30 international business journals using both a citation analysis and a survey approach...
Rankings of Academic Journals and Institutions in Economics.
Abstract: We conducted a worldwide ranking of academic institutions that produce research in a list of thirty top research journals in economics. We also computed journal rankings for the same period and hence we do not rely on weights that were computed for research carried out in earlier periods...
Scholarly Journals as Producers of Knowledge: Theory and Empirical Evidence Based on Data Envelopment Analysis
Abstract: There have been numerous studies that rank journals based on relative quality. These have generally failed to address some important theoretical and empirical issues relating to productivity. As an alternative, the authors outline a theoretical framework in which an academic journal is considered to be a “producer” of intellectual output....
Free online availability substantially increases a paper's impact.
Free online availability facilitates access in many ways, including provision of online archives; direct connections among scientists or research groups; hassle-free links from e-mail, discussion groups and other services; indexing by web search engines; and the creation of third-party search services. Free online availability of scientific literature offers substantial benefits to science and society. To maximize impact, minimize redundancy and speed scientific progress, authors and publishers
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
Devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences... They also keep lists of the most frequently downloaded papers in each of the discipline areas, and for the entire database.