Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search HamCAT Reference Entries
Search Hamline's Online Reference collection
Tips for Using Online Reference Materials
HINT: Often signed encyclopedia or handbook articles (references sources) are written by experts who have written other texts (books, articles, blog posts, etc.) You can search for those authors in HamCAT or Google to discover some of their other works. Reference sources often also have a Further Reading section or a Bibliography at the end of them, with other sources on your topic, that can be worth exploring.
Reference = Background Information
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Start with the encyclopedia for an introduction to your topic. Move on to the thesaurus, atlas, biographies, ebooks, news, videos and multimedia
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offering a thorough introduction to topics across the academic spectrum, Credo provides full-text online versions of published reference works, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias. Search Keywords, Subject Categories and Topic Pages.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Introduction to and in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Full-text articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, and a PRO/CON feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and a short "sidebar" round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of subject-specific encyclopedias and other reference materials, easily searchable. Enter search terms and browse reference materials grouped by related subject terms.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This collection of reference books includes dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedias, both general and subject specific. Use this collection when searching for reputable background information on just about any academic topic.
SAGE Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and ebooks for business, communication, counseling, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, political science, psychology, public health sciences, and sociology.
Examples of Print and Online Reference Books
- Crow, Charles L. A Companion to American Gothic, 1st ed., John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated, 2013.
- Jeffrey Andrew Weinstock. The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters. Taylor and Francis, 2016
- Icons of horror and the supernatural : an encyclopedia of our worst nightmares, 2007 (2 vols.) REQUEST VIA ILL.
- Misiroglu, Gina Renée., and Michael. Eury. The Supervillain Book : the Evil Side of Comics and Hollywood. Visible Ink Press, 2006.Hamline Bush Library, Main Book Collection, 3rd Floor ; P96.V48 M57 2006
- Cardin, Matt. Horror Literature through History: An Encyclopedia of the Stories That Speak to Our Deepest Fears. Greenwood Press, 2017.
- Melton, J. Gordon. The Vampire Book : the Encyclopedia of the Undead. 3rd ed., Visible Ink Press, 2011. Hamline Bush Library, Reference Collection, 1st Floor ; BF1556 .M46 2011 (In house use only- Does not circulate).