Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search HamCAT Reference Entries
Search Hamline's Online Reference collection
Tips for Using Online Reference Materials
HINT: Often signed encyclopedia or handbook articles (references sources) are written by experts who have written other texts (books, articles, blog posts, etc.) You can search for those authors in CLICsearch or Google to discover some of their other works. Reference sources often also have a Further Reading section or a Bibliography at the end of them, with other sources on your topic, that can be worth exploring.
Reference = Background Information
Introduction to and in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Full-text articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, and a PRO/CON feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and a short "sidebar" round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Connection time delays are possible – please be patient (30 seconds)
Offering a thorough introduction to topics across the academic spectrum, Credo provides full-text online versions of published reference works, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias. Search Keywords, Subject Categories and Topic Pages.
Oxford Reference Online
This collection of reference books includes dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedias, both general and subject specific. Use this collection when searching for reputable background information on just about any academic topic.
Includes reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and ebooks for business, communication, counseling, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, political science, psychology, public health sciences, and sociology.
Start with the encyclopedia for an introduction to your topic. Move on to the thesaurus, atlas, biographies, ebooks, news, and multimedia entries.
Examples of Online Reference Books
Encyclopedia of World Scientists by
Call Number: Bush Library Main Book Collection, 3rd Floor Q141 .O25 2001
This volume is a comprehensive reference tool for learning about scientists and their work. It includes 500 cross-referenced profiles of well-known scientific greats of history and contemporary scientists whose work is verging on prominence.
International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists by
Call Number: Request from a MnPALS partner library
Publication Date: 2001
"The International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists is an invaluable and authoritative resource for students of science and women's studies