Services

Alumni & Community Services

Publicly available resources

elibrarymn​ eLibrary Minnesota (ELM) databases are free for anyone within Minnesota to use. Online  eLibraryMN databases include Britannica, Consumer Health Complete, Ebsco's eBook Collection, Expanded Academic ASAP, numerous online newspapers, and much more. 


If you are within Minnesota, use MNLink to request Interlibrary Loan (ILL) books opens in a different browser tab  via your local public library. MN Link

Using print collections at Bush Memorial Library

Hamline Alumni

Hamline alumni and actively enrolled or employed persons from Mitchell Hamline School of Law are invited to check out books from the Hamline Bush Memorial Library circulating collection. Please see the staff at the Central Service Desk (CSD) on the first floor of the library about establishing borrowing privileges, which involves verifying your alumni/MHSL status with the Registrar.  CLICsearch “Sign In” is not necessary for alumni -- please contact the CSD directly for questions about loaned items or to renew loaned items. Note: The university does not offer CLIC requests or ILLiad interlibrary loans for alumni. For interlibrary loans, we suggest you contact your local public library. Try MNLinkopens in a different browser tab

 

Community Members

The general public is welcome to come to the library to use select materials onsite. The university does not offer check-out privileges to the general public, except for sponsored visiting scholars.

Accessing online resources at Bush Memorial Library

Hamline Alumni

Hamline alumni may come to the library to access our online resources. There are a couple of public computers near the stairwells on 2nd and 3rd floor that do not require logins.   On the 1st and lower floors, you will need a temporary guest login to access Hamline computers. Guest logins are available at the Central Service Desk (CSD). For help using databases while present at Bush Memorial Library, see the CSD or ask a librarian.

 

Community Members

Due to licensing limitations, the university cannot offer access to online resources to the general public.

 

Printing

If you are a guest on campus and need to print, you will need to obtain a guest account first from the Central Service Desk at 651-523-2220 or email:
its-service@hamline.edu 

Public Libraries

Many people are unaware that public libraries offer:

  • online databases, such as Business Source Premier and Educator’s Reference Complete. Note that all Minnesota libraries offer free access to eLibraryMN databases.
  • interlibrary loan services for obtaining material from other library collections, including Hamline’s.
  • eBooks, streaming audio, DIY learning materials (test prep., language learning, computer skills, etc.), and much more.

Find and visit a local public library:

Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA) alliance of 101 public libraries in the seven-county Twin Cities metro area

 

MnKnows - dig deeper at your library portal for online Minnesota library services for all

Library Privileges for Visiting Scholars

Bush Library provides access to our print and digital collections and databases to visiting scholars who are officially sponsored by a department, program or school of the university for a period determined by the sponsoring party. We are unable to provide access to the extended collections of our sister schools in CLIC (Cooperating Libraries in Consortium), the University of Minnesota, or other academic libraries. We also do not extend interlibrary loan privileges (borrowing of materials from other libraries) to our visiting scholars.

Many university offices are involved in creating the identification pieces needed to offer a visiting scholar access to library products and services. We recommend a minimum of two weeks to make sure that all university offices are able to complete their step(s) in the process.

Step 1

The sponsoring party, (a Hamline department, program or school) contacts the Central Service Desk (651-523-2220) to request the creation of a Hamline Username and Password for the visiting scholar.

Step 2

Upon receiving the Hamline Username and Password, the sponsoring party shares this information with their library liaison and the Virtual Services Systems Librarian.

Step 3

Bush Library contacts Human Resources and the Administrative Information Systems (Banner/Workday) Office to ensure that the visiting scholar gets appropriate system coding, so that data can be downloaded and added to the library patron file.

Step 4

Bush Library updates the library patron file, including a service expiration date, and notifies the sponsoring party that library privileges are available.

Step 5

The sponsoring party notifies their library liaison when the visiting scholar arrives on campus, so that the scholar will have an opportunity for a formal introduction to the library’s resources for scholarship.

Step 6

The library informs and holds the sponsoring party financially responsible for late fees, and lost book charges incurred by their visiting scholar. The sponsoring party will determine the availability and funding for printing and photocopying expenses for their visiting scholar.

Is This Page Useful?
: 0 votes (0%)
: 0 votes (0%)
: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0