ICPSR February 2013 training opportunities
This is the "General Data Sources" page of the "Data Sources @ Hamline" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need help?

Data Sources @ Hamline  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2014 URL: http://bushlibraryguides.hamline.edu/data Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Data Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Data Collections @ Hamline

  • ICPSR Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research  
      
    Bush Library has a subscription to this collection of social science data sets. Click on the blue i icon to see a list of the topics included in this product. All users must Log In/Create Account in the upper left corner to access the full product. All accounts must be created on campus. Off campus access is possible IF the user has logged in from a campus computer once during a semester.
  • HU Institutional Data  
      
    Hamline's Office of Institutional Research and Assessment houses the data files about Hamline's student enrollment, demographics and other basic data, including NSSE results.
  • Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference
    Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference is designed to allow users to quickly navigate the billions of points of data contained in the repository, representing ~5,000 datasets covering thousands of geographic entities. With Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference, users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels. All of the data are drawn from authoritative sources and are citable. The product provides high-level summary information as well as detailed line item views.

    Available Datasets and Sources
    Guide to using Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference
  • Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
    Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data-Planet repository contains more than 90 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations. The over two billion time series in Data-Planet provide immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and described with up to 37 fields of metadata, including a controlled vocabulary.

    Available Datasets and Sources
    Guide to using Statistical Datasets

Suggest a source to include

 

Contact the Library

call
(651) 523-2375

chat
chat with a librarian 24/7 

email
Use our email form

 

What's Included Here

The Data Sources @ Hamline page highlights Bush Library's subscription products, as well as free data sources available to our student and faculty researchers.

Only sources which include interactive data query applications and tools, such as data libraries and external database management systems which are accessed through a server, are listed on this guide. 

Researchers seeking pre-packaged statistics may be able to locate those on our other research guides, in the library catalog, and through general internet searching. For assistance, contact the Bush Library Reference Desk.

General Data Sources

  • DataBib  Icon
    DataBib is a searchable directory/catalog/registry of research data repositories.
  • Data.gov: Empowering People  
      
    Machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government of the United States.
  • United States Census Bureau  
      
    The leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. 9 different data tools are available, depending on the data sources accessed.
  • International Statistical Agencies
    Links to central statistical offices in countries around the world and three datasets: International Data Base, HIV/AIDS Surveillance, and Global Population Mapping.
  • The World Bank's World Databank
    Contains extensive collections of time series data on education, gender, health nutrition, population, poverty, inequality, development, financial statistics and business regulations. The World Bank currently has three different APIs to provide access to different data sets.
  • Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online  
      
    This UN data source presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world.
  • OECD.Stat Statistics from the OECD iLibrary
    OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. This subscription product offers some free data sets.
  • IPUMS USA: Integrated Public Use Microdata Series
    The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2010. IPUMS data also includes harmonized income and occupation variables.
  • City-Data.com
    Limited query tool, with a broad range of selected data and interesting profiles about selected US cities.
  • UNESCO Institute for Statistics Data Centre
    The Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication.
 

Big Data Across the Federal Government

Why Should Students Learn to Use Data Sets?
  1. To enrich their research experience 
  2. To discover new connections and pathways in their research.
  3. To understand the work happening within our federal government.
Watch the video below.

Librarian Creator

Profile Image
Amy Sheehan
Contact Info
1536 Hewitt Ave., MS-C1919
St. Paul, MN 55104
651-523-2193
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip