Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Online Reference In CLICsearch
Search Hamline's Online Reference collection
24/7 Online Reference Databases
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Start with the encyclopedia for an introduction to your topic. Move on to the thesaurus, atlas, biographies, ebooks, news, videos and multimedia
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Introduction to and in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Full-text articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, and a PRO/CON feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and a short "sidebar" round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offering a thorough introduction to topics across the academic spectrum, Credo provides full-text online versions of published reference works, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias. Search Keywords, Subject Categories and Topic Pages.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
This small collection of titles will grow over time. Currently we have reference e-books in this collection in the areas of Biography, Business, History, Medicine, Nation and World, Religion, Science and Social Science.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online contains a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from more than 175 Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
SAGE Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and ebooks for business, communication, counseling, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, political science, psychology, public health sciences, and sociology.
Subjects: Communication Studies
, Criminology and Criminal Justice
, East Asian Studies
, Environmental Studies
, First Year Seminar
, Global Studies
, Modern Languages
, Nonprofit Management
, Public Administration
, Social Justice
, Theatre Arts
, Women's Studies