From the Library of Congress. Search for historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922, or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
This database specializes in general interest subjects, including popular magazines. It also offers reference sources and articles, biographies, and an image collection, including maps and flags.
The Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) and the Minneapolis Morning Tribune (1909-1922) offer full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions provided by the Minnesota Historical Society in partnership with Minnesota State Library Services.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers interface provides a full image online and indexing of the New York Times newspaper back to 1851. The current 3 years are not found in this database.
The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes hundreds of thousands of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1856 and today. Due to copyright law, most newspapers published after 1922 can only be accessed from the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center
Use this tool to identify which journals, magazines, and newspapers are available via Hamline's Libraries. If your title isn't available, you can request the article using interlibrary loan.
Covers the history of the world from 1450 forward. Topics include military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Note: it does not include the U.S. and Canada.
Most significant journals in nearly every subject, from anthropology to women’s studies, the majority available full text.
Sign is not required within EBSCO except to download ebooks or to keep citations in folders. When trying to sign in to EBSCO using the blue Sign into Google button, you then have to enter your full Hamline email address– you can't simply enter the first part of your username.
"Journal STORage." This is an archive of academic journals in many disciplines. Full text coverage for journals begins with the first issue published and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years (i.e. current articles are not included). For example, it includes: The American Historical Review issues from 1895 forward, Minnesota History from 1915, and the Town Planning Review from 1910. Special collections within this database include American prison newspapers, 1800-2020, Independent Voices publications from the alternate press, Student Activism primary sources, and more.
Full-text articles covering the disciplines of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Dates Covered: varies by title
Full Text: Yes
Earlier Articles available: Some titles are indexed and full text in earlier dates in JSTOR.
Offers a comprehensive collection of subject databases including journals, full-text articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections are comprised of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organizational Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
Full Text: Yes
Book Reviews
When searching in journal databases (e.g., Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, etc.) you can search for the title of a book, then limit your search results to "book reviews/reviews".
