Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search CLICsearch Reference Entries
Search Hamline's Online Reference collection
Terminology when searching library databases
- Mental Illness --History
- Psychiatry-- History
- Art and Mental Illness--History
- Mental Illness in Literature
- Insanity --Law
TIPS for using Reference Materials
HINT: Often signed encyclopedia or handbook articles (references sources) are written by experts who have written other texts (books, articles, blog posts, etc.) You can search for those authors in CLICsearch or Google to discover some of their other works. Reference sources often also have a Further Reading section or a Bibliography at the end of them, with other sources on your topic, that can be worth exploring.
Reference = Background Information
Start with the encyclopedia for an introduction to your topic. Move on to the thesaurus, atlas, biographies, ebooks, news, and multimedia entries.
Offering a thorough introduction to topics across the academic spectrum, Credo provides full-text online versions of published reference works, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias. Search Keywords, Subject Categories and Topic Pages.
Introduction to and in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Full-text articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, and a PRO/CON feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and a short "sidebar" round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Connection time delays are possible – please be patient (30 seconds)
Oxford Reference Online
This collection of reference books includes dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedias, both general and subject specific. Use this collection when searching for reputable background information on just about any academic topic.
Includes reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and ebooks for business, communication, counseling, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, political science, psychology, public health sciences, and sociology.
Examples of Online Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by
Publication Date: 2004
The Encyclopedia of Social Theory examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. It covers the 18th century to the present. Search Madness or Mental Illness.
Handbook of Personology and Psychopathology by
Publication Date: 2005
Personology is the study of human character in all of its complexities, covering the range of normal and pathological individuals, from evolutionary development, classification,diagnosis and measurement, to intervention at the individual,family, and societal levels.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by
Publication Date: 2007
Print book. Borrow via CLICsearch. Understandable yet detailed information on mental disorders and conditions.
Cultural Sociology of Mental Illness by
Publication Date: 2014
The U.S. Surgeon General's report on mental health notes Surveys estimate that during a 1-year period, 22 to 23 percent of the U.S. adult population or 44 million people have diagnosable mental disorders, according the reliable, established criteria. The report goes on to say, epidemiological estimates have shifted over time because of changes in the definitions and diagnosis of mental health and mental illness. Indeed, some experts believe there has been an astonishing rise in mental illness. According to one report in1987, prior to Prozac hitting the market and the current ubiquitous use of antidepressants and other psychiatric drugs, the U.S. mental illness disability rate was 1 in every 184 Americans, but by 2007 the mental illness disability rate had more than doubled to 1 in every 76 Americans. Discussion now revolves around the questions: Are there truly more mentally ill people now or are there just more people being diagnosed and treated? And what are the roles of economics and the pharmacological industry in this controversy? At the core of what is going on with mental illness in American and around the world, we believe, is cultural sociology: How differing cultures treat mental illness and, in turn, how mental health patients are affected by the culture. In this multidisciplinary reference, we look at the culture of mental illness from the non-clinical perspectives of sociology, history, psychology, epidemiology, economics, public health policy, and finally, the mental health patients themselves.