Guides: 2020 FYSEM 1010-22: STEM and Social Justice (Struck & Born Selly): Pre-Search Resources

Ask a Librarian

Terminology when searching library databases

Remember terminology changes over time. Eventually the library search engines have SEE references to point to to more current and previous terminology. For example, when searching for the topics in this course, you may attempt to search by POC (People of Color) or BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) and you might get some results. But also consider synonyms used in these systems to find alternative words. These might include Minoritiies, or specific groups of people. Use a thesaurus to help you find alternative terms to use.

TIPS for using Reference Materials

HINT: Often signed encyclopedia or handbook articles (references sources) are written by experts who have written other texts (books, articles, blog posts, etc.) You can search for those authors in CLICsearch or Google to discover some of their other works. Reference sources often also have a Further Reading section or a Bibliography at the end of them, with other sources on your topic, that can be worth exploring.

Reference = Background Information

Britannica Academic
- This link opens in a new window
Start with the encyclopedia for an introduction to your topic. Move on to the thesaurus, atlas, biographies, ebooks, news, and multimedia entries.
Credo Reference
Offering a thorough introduction to topics across the academic spectrum, Credo provides full-text online versions of published reference works, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias. Search Keywords, Subject Categories and Topic Pages.
CQ Researcher
Introduction to and in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Full-text articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, and a PRO/CON feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and a short "sidebar" round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.

Connection time delays are possible – please be patient (30 seconds)
Oxford Reference Online
This collection of reference books includes dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedias, both general and subject specific. Use this collection when searching for reputable background information on just about any academic topic.
SAGE Reference
Includes reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and ebooks for business, communication, counseling, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, political science, psychology, public health sciences, and sociology.