Services

Faculty & Instructional Support

On this page

  • Overview
  • The Collection
  • Information Literacy
  • Liaisons
  • For Visiting Scholars
  • Using Library Materials in Your Course
  • Purchasing Materials
  • Instruction
  • Course Guides
  • Copyright
  • Help
  • Data Sources
  • Manage Citations

Introduction to Bush Library

Library Liaisons

The key point of contact between faculty and Bush Library is the Library Liaison.  

A librarian is assigned to every CLA, HSB, and HSE department/program.  The more closely you work with your liaison, the better we can support you and your students.  Your liaison will assist with collection-building and training in support of students' work in your courses. See the Liaisons tab above for details.

Finding Library Materials

Start from our home page.

To search all materials at all of the CLIC libraries in a single search, use Summon.  Or, use the Find menu on the home page to locate specific databases or materials, e.g. articles, media.

Using Library Materials

Your Hamline ID is your library card.

As part of the Hamline community, you have borrowing privileges at the following libriaries:

  • Bush Library:  Circulation Policies  
  • Hamline Law Library:  Policies 
  • CLIC Libraries:  Augburg College, Bethel University and Seminary, Concordia University, St. Catherine University, University of Northwestern, University of St. Thomas.  To use their materials, you can either use the "request" feature in Summon/Clicnet to have them delivered here for you, or visit the library in person and use your Hamline ID to check materials out.  Deliveries are twice daily, M - F when classes are in session, once a day, M - F when they're not.

Questions about using materials?  Contact the Circulation Desk at 651-523-2374.

Finding Materials Beyond Hamline & CLIC

Use WorldCat Local to find books, media and other resources not available from Hamline's libraries or other CLIC libraries.

Off-Campus Access

When you are off-campus, you will need to enter your Hamline username and password to access materials in our licensed databases. This is the same login and password you use for your Blackboard course and for your Hamline computer.

Having trouble connecting?  Try our troubleshooting guide.

We provide access to materials, in print and online, that support student research in the disciplines taught at Hamline.  As publishing models--and scholarship itself--change with advances in technology, we continue to explore new ways to do this.  For example, academic libraries are buying less, leasing/subscribing more, and even piloting other ways of providing content to our communities, such as Patron Driven Acquisition.

The collection in Bush Library includes:

Online Collections Physical Collections
ebooks Books
located on the third floor
Reference ebooks  Reference Books
located on the first floor
Online databases  
journals and articles 
Journals
Streaming video DVDs and Videos
Streaming music CDs
Image Collections  
Data   
Archival Collections  
Digital Collections  
   

 

 

 

 

 

 

A significant part of our mission is to provide students with the skills they will need to do research for your courses.  These skills are sometimes overlooked because it's assumed that students are getting this instruction someplace else (you may have experienced that yourself as a student). Bush Library's instruction programs are designed to support the scholarly learning activities of students, faculty, and staff. The skills, sources and systems taught are adaptable for a lifelong use of information.

Learning outcomes

Bush Library is committed to supporting the university-wide learning outcome for student learning:

A Hamline graduate will be able to use information and technology competently and responsibly.

Working collaboratively with classroom faculty, the instruction sessions provided by Bush Library are designed to help Hamline students become proficient in the following program level information literacy learning outcomes:

  • Developing a research strategy
  • Selecting the appropriate finding tools (databases/indexes) for their research.
  • Effectively using search finding tools
  • Using finding tool features
  • Retrieving sources from multiple providers
  • Evaluating the sources they discover
  • Documenting the sources they cite in their research
  • Understanding the economic, legal and social issues which surround the creation, use, and ownership/retention of information.

Bush Library currently uses the assessment software SAILS (Standardized Assessment of Information Literacy Skills) to measure student learning in selected undergraduate courses. For more information on assessment of information literacy, contact librarian Amy Sheehan.

 

New students

You can help ensure that all Hamline students are prepared for research by inviting a librarian into your class. If you teach English 1110, a first-year seminar, or a core course in any of the graduate schools, it is especially important that you schedule an introduction to doing research at Hamline.

First-year undergraduate courses:  If you teach English 1110 or a first-year seminar, a librarian will contact you to schedule a session. 
New graduate student courses:  If you teach one of the core programs in the graduate schools, your library liaison will contact you to schedule a session.

Every department and school on campus has a librarian assigned who will assist with collection-building and training in support of students' work in your courses. Your liaison is your point-of-contact with Bush Library.

View a list of library liaisons.

Library Privileges for Visiting Scholars

Bush Library provides access to our print and digital collections and databases to visiting scholars who are officially sponsored by a department, program or school of the university for a period determined by the sponsoring party. We are unable to provide access to the extended collections of our sister schools in CLIC (Cooperating Libraries in Consortium), the University of Minnesota, or other academic libraries. We also do not extend interlibrary loan privileges (borrowing of materials from other libraries) to our visiting scholars.

Many university offices are involved in creating the identification pieces needed to offer a visiting scholar access to library products and services. We recommend a minimum of two weeks to make sure that all university offices are able to complete their step(s) in the process.

Step 1

The sponsoring party, (a Hamline department, program or school) contacts the ITS Help Desk (651-523-2220) to request the creation of a Hamline Username and Password for the visiting scholar.

Step 2

Upon receiving the Hamline Username and Password, the sponsoring party shares this information with their library liaison and the Systems Librarian, Jon Neilson.

Step 3

Bush Library contacts Human Resources and the Administrative Information Systems (Banner) office to ensure that the visiting scholar gets appropriate Banner coding, so that data can be downloaded from Banner and added to the library patron file.

Step 4

Bush Library updates the Library patron file, including a service expiration date, and notifies the sponsoring party that library privileges are available.

Step 5

The sponsoring party notifies their library liaison when the visiting scholar arrives on campus, so that the scholar will have an opportunity for a formal introduction to the library’s resources for scholarship.

Step 6

The library informs and holds the sponsoring party financially responsible for late fees, and lost book charges incurred by their visiting scholar. The sponsoring party will determine the availability and funding for printing and photocopying expenses for their visiting scholar.

Loading

Support for Your Course

Ways you can provide access to library materials:

  • Online via the Blackboard or LearningHouse:
    Using these platforms, your students will essentially have a digital coursepack of all course materials in one place, including streaming media (films, music, images).  
  • In Bush Library, using Course Reserves for physical copies of materials, e.g. books or DVDs the library owns.

Online course materials:

Many students do not have time to come to the library.  Technology and publishing is at the point that we can provide online materials most of the time, including streaming video. Your liaison can help you create an online presence for all of your supplemental course reading/viewing.  If we don't have it, we'll do our best to purchase it.  We can also help you create links from Blackboard or LearningHouse to these materials. Or, we can create a Research Guide for your course that does the same and more.

Course Reserves:

See our course reserves page.

 

Research Training for your students

You can ensure that your students are prepared to do research for your course or discipline by scheduling a session with a librarian.  This has the potential to both improve the quality of students' research and save them time.  We can also create a Research Guide that will lead your students to the best books, databases, reference sources, and websites for their assignments.  Browse some of the research guides created for programs and courses.

Possible topics: 

  • Finding and getting materials beyond CLICnet (worldcat, U of MN and other catalogs); specialized databases (LexisNexis, Art Full Text, Sage)
  • Specialized websites (government and policy websites);
  • Advanced search methods for any database;
  • Significant resources in a particular discipline.

To schedule an advanced session, contact your library liaison.

Your library liaison can create a Research Guide for your department, program, or course.  This is essentially "one-stop shopping" for your students' research.  We will recommend databases, keywords, websites, or other resources that will help your students get a jump-start on their research.

See below for examples.  These Guides were developed for Political Science.

If you'd like, your liaison can also visit your classroom to provide an introduction to the Guide or hands-on experience.

Copyright

Hamline University Policy requires that all students, staff, and faculty observe applicable copyright laws. Below and under Related Links (on the right) are resources to help you prepare course materials in compliance with copyright law.

In a Nutshell

1.  Copyright permission is generally needed when:

  • Making and distributing copies to an entire class (whether in a coursepack or individually)
  • Scanning and posting articles in Blackboard (or similar course management system)
  • Putting photocopies on reserve in the library

2.  The Fair Use Doctrine permits some uses of copyrighted materials that do not require permission. Educational use alone does not make it fair use.

3.  You may NOT need copyright permission if the article, book, or chapter is in the library databases.  You can provide one-click access from Blackboard to the content for your students.  For more information, see  Linking to Online Books, Articles, and Journals (under Related Links) for complete instructions. 

4.  Procedures for getting copyright permission at Hamline.  It's never been easier!

 

More Information

Highlights from these sites:

Loading

Support for Your Research

Consult a librarian.  If you'd like general assistance, contact our Reference Desk. Our chat service is available 24x7.  If you'd like assistance with finding sources for your research, contact your library liaison.  We can work with you to identify relevant databases, keywords, or search strategies.  We can also help identify other specialized collections or resources.

Get Materials From Beyond CLIC
Use our ILLiad system to get articles, books, microfilm, etc. that are not available through our CLIC consortium. More information.

Loading