Skip to main content
This guide has not been mapped to a Group. Please select a Group for this guide.
Search Summon for articles, books, films, music and more.
Full Text Databases
These are subscription databases. If you are off-campus, you will be routed through the proxy server.
Company Profiles, Federal and State Legal Cases, Law Reviews, and, especially, newspapers. News sources include the Pioneer Press and Star Tribune and hundreds of other American city and regional newsapapers, international news (including foreign language), and broadcast transcripts, e.g. CNN, NPR, Fox News, CBS.
Lexis Nexis Academic How-To Guides
New York Times Index
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Pioneer Press via ProQuest Digital Microfilm
The Digital Microfilm platform allows you to browse back issues of the Pioneer Press without using microfilm equipment. Not searchable. Browse issues from 2009 - present.
This database indexes over 350 full-text state, national and international newspapers, including:
The Star Tribune (1986 to present)
The Pioneer Press (2010 to present)
The New York Times, East Coast Late Edition (1999 to present)
The Wall Street Journal (1984 to current)
...and many more
Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Historical News Sources
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
From the Library of Congress. Search for historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922, or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Historical Minneapolis Tribune
The Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical New York Times
ProQuest Historical Newspapers interface provides indexing and full image online archive of the entire New York Times newspaper back to 1851. The current 3 years is not found in this product.
Comprehensive News Sites
ABYZ News Links
A directory of links to online news sources from around the world, arranged geographically. Find newspapers and other sites with news content, such as broadcast stations and magazines.
Newseum: Today's Front Page
The Newseum has created an interactive graphic from which you can view the current/daily front pages of more than 800 newspapers worldwide. See who is covering what.
Newspapers and News Wires on the Web
Radio and TV News on the Web
Al Jazeera American
Worldwide news source based in the United States.
Good source of current International news.
MPR (Minnesota Public Radio)
News, archives, and streaming from Minnesota Public Radio, the nation's second-largest producer and distributor of national public radio programs, the largest producer and distributor of classical music programming in the country, and a charter member of National Public Radio.
NPR (National Public Radio)
Breaking national and world news. Also top stories from business, politics, health, science, technology, music, arts and culture.
News Links for Specific Courses