This guide has not been mapped to a Group. Please select a Group for this guide.
Search Summon for articles, books, films, music and more.
General Data Sources
DataBib is a searchable directory/catalog/registry of research data repositories.
Data.gov: Empowering People
Machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government of the United States.
United States Census Bureau
The leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. 9 different data tools are available, depending on the data sources accessed.
International Statistical Agencies
Links to central statistical offices in countries around the world and three datasets: International Data Base, HIV/AIDS Surveillance, and Global Population Mapping.
The World Bank's World Databank
Contains extensive collections of time series data on education, gender, health nutrition, population, poverty, inequality, development, financial statistics and business regulations. The World Bank currently has three different APIs to provide access to different data sets.
OECD.Stat Statistics from the OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. This subscription product offers some free data sets.
IPUMS USA: Integrated Public Use Microdata Series
The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2010. IPUMS data also includes harmonized income and occupation variables.
Limited query tool, with a broad range of selected data and interesting profiles about selected US cities.
Data Collections at Hamline
ICPSR Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR maintains a data archive of research studies in the social sciences. It hosts specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Browse by topic, series, geography (including international data), and investigator. Take the one-question survey on the FIND DATA page to receive valuable tips geared toward your information needs and search preferences.
Hamline Institutional Data
Hamline's Office of Institutional Research and Assessment houses the data files on Hamline's student enrollment, demographics and other basic data, including NSSE results. Hamline username and password required.
Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference
Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference is designed to allow users to quickly navigate the billions of points of data contained in the repository, representing ~5,000 datasets covering thousands of geographic entities. With Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference, users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels. All of the data are drawn from authoritative sources and are citable. The product provides high-level summary information as well as detailed line item views.
Available Datasets and Sources
Guide to using Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference